We are going up!

It’s been a long season, but the lads finally got their reward for all of their hard work and at times wonderful footlball.

As I’ve written before we set a target of a top four finish, but have sat top of the table for the vast majority of the season. Stafford Soccer School had always got a few games in hand and as expected ended up worthy champions.

At the start of April, We had narrowly lost out 3-2 in a must win game. After twice leading, we conceded a penalty late in the second half, and then went all out for a goal – and ultimately got caught on the counter attack with just a few seconds remaining.

After a two week break we played Stafford again (who does these fixtures?), but the lads weren’t at the races and we lost 2-0.

Second place was still very much in our hands with a 14 goal advantage over our nearest rivals and last opponents of the season – Boley Park.

As long as our guys didn’t lose 7-0! (agg), we’d be promoted. A lack luster first half saw us concede a goal late in the first half. But a much improved 2nd half saw PJFC camped in their half. We couldn’t get the goal our dominance and play deserved, largely due to an inspired keeper and some wayward finishing so the final whistle felt like an anti-climax.

At the end of the match there was no celebration from our guys (it’s nice that they don’t like losing), but our dip of form should not detract from a tremendous achievement in a very competitive league.

We are presented with our runners up trophy on Thursday at Drayton Manor – and hopefully by then it will sink in to the guys that they have had a very good season.

We now look forward to a break from competitive action. And will start to concentrate on next season’s challenge of staying in the top flight division – and hopefully causing a few upsets on the way.

Well done guys – it’s been a real squad effort – and a pleasure to coach you this season.

Russ, Nige and Nigel

The Squad.

Scott Oakden (GK)

Ben Yates

Jack Croty

Reece Jecketts

Jon Kalmar

Ryan Land

Ryan Lucas

Ash Andrews

Ethan Mould

Mat Smith

Ben Dobson

Jack James

Greg Marshall

Zack Porter

Jord Wilcox

About Editor@PJFC